Hong Kong

Hong Kong is one of the two Special Administrative Regions of the People’s Republic of China, the other being Macau. It is situated on China’s south coast and, enclosed by the Pearl River Delta and South China Sea.

Hong Kong is a former British dependency on the southeastern coast of China that was returned to China in 1997. The area comprises Hong Kong Island, ceded by china in1841; the Kowloon peninsula, ceded in 1860; and the New Territories, additional areas of the mainland that were leased for 99 years in 1898. Hong Kong has become one of the world’s major financial and manufacturing centers.