India is a country in southern Asia. It is the seventh-largest country by area and the most populous democracy in the world. Bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the southwest, and the Bay of Bengal on the southeast, it shares land borders with Pakistan to the west; China, Nepal and Bhutan to the north east; and Burma and Bangladesh to the east. In the Indian Ocean, India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka and Maldives; in addition, India’s Andaman and Nicobar Islands share a maritime border with Thailand and Indonesia.

Much of India was united under a Muslim sultanate based around Delhi from the 12th century until incorporated in the Mogul empire in the 16th century. Colonial intervention began in the late 17th century, particularly by the British; in 1765, the East India Company acquired the right to administer Bengal. In 1858, after the India n Mutiny, Britain took over the company’s authority, and in 1876 Queen Victoria was proclaimed Empress of India. Independence was won in 1947.

    One Dollar      Fifteen NP

     Three PS      One NP

     Twenty Five Paise     Half Anna

      Family Planning      Mat Work

     Twelve AS      One Dollar

     One A    Two N.P.

    Four AS       Twenty Five NP

        Mohandas Gandhi       Fifteen Cents

    10NP      Fifteen NP

    5NP     3NP [India]

    8NP     6NP